Call for Paper
Call for Posters
Australia Visa

The next generation of scientific research and experiments will be carried out by communities of researchers from organizations that span national boundaries. These activities will involve geographically distributed and heterogeneous resources such as computational systems, scientific instruments, databases, sensors, software components, networks, and people. Such large-scale and enhanced scientific endeavors, popularly termed as e-Science, are carried out via collaborations on a global scale.

Grid computing has emerged as one of the key computing paradigms that enable the creation and management of Internet-based utility computing infrastructure, called Cyberinfrastructure, for realization of e-Science and e-Business at the global level. Several national and international projects around the world have been initiated to carry out research and innovation activities that transform the vision of e-Science and Grid computing into reality.

The e-Science 2005 conference, sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee for Scalable Computing (TCSC) and Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, is designed to bring together leading international and interdisciplinary research communities, developers, and users of e-Science applications and enabling IT technologies. The conference serves as a forum to present the results of the latest research and product/tool developments, and highlight related activities from around the world.

  • The following topics concerning e-Science and Grid Computing are of interest, but not limited to:

  •  Enabling Technologies: Internet and Web Services

  • Collaborative Science Models and Techniques

  •  Service-Oriented Grid Architectures

  •  Problem Solving Environments

  •  Application Development Environments

  •  Programming Paradigms and Models

  •  Resource Management and Scheduling

  •  Grid Economy and Business Models

  •  Autonomic and Self-Organising Grid Networks

  •  Virtual Instruments and Data Access Management

  •  Sensor Networks and e-Science

  •  Security Challenges

  •  Software and Social Engineering

  • e-Science & Grid applications in Physics, Biology, Astronomy, Chemistry, Finance, and Engineering.

Authors are invited to submit papers of not more than 8 pages of double column text using single spaced 10 point size on 8.5 x 11 inch pages, as per IEEE 8.5 x 11 manuscript guidelines: Authors should submit a PDF or PostScript (level 2) file that will print on a PostScript printer. Full paper submission instructions will be placed on the conference website. It is expected that the proceedings will be published by the IEEE CS Press, USA and will be made available online through the IEEE Digital Library.

e-Science 2005 will also feature workshops, tutorials, exhibits, and an industrial track. To organize or participate in these please see the conference web site.


The best 6 papers from the conference will be selected for journal length extension and their publication in a special issue of the International Journal of Future Generation Computer Systems (FGCS). The special issue is expected to be published in early 2006.

Papers Due:       Aug 15, 2005
Notification of Acceptance:   Sept 15, 2005
Camera Ready Papers Due:   Oct 2, 2005

Honorary Chair
Ian Foster,
Argonne National Lab and Univ. of Chicago , USA

Honorary Vice Chair
Ah Chung Tsoi, Australian Research Council, Australia

General Chairs
Raj Buyya, GRIDS Lab,
University of Melbourne , Australia
Ron Perrott,
Belfast e-Science Centre, Queen’s University , UK

Program Chair

Heinz Stockinger,
University of Vienna , Austria

Program Vice-Chairs

David Abramson,
Monash University, Melbourne , Australia
David Anderson,
University of California at Berkeley, USA
Geoffrey Fox,
Indiana University, USA
Hai Jin,
Huazhong Univ. of Science and Technology, China
Ed Seidel, LSU Centre for Computation and
Technology, USA

Workshops Chair

Mark Baker,
University of Portsmouth, UK

Industry Track Chair

Wolfgang Gentzsch, MCNC Grid Computing,

Poster Chair

Paul Coddington,
University of Adelaide, Australia

Web Chair

Jia Yu,
University of Melbourne, Australia

Publicity Chairs

Yoshio Tanaka (Asia-Pacific), AIST,
Bruno Schulze (
South America ), LNCC, Brazil
Radha Nandkumar (
North America), NCSA/UIUC, USA
Bernie Boyle (
Europe),  e-Science Centre, Queen's University, UK
Haresh Bhatt (Indian subcontinent),  Indian Space Research Organization, India

Steering Committee
Raj Buyya, GRIDS Lab, University of Melbourne, Australia
Ian Foster, Argonne National Lab and University of Chicago, USA
Tony Hey, Microsoft Corporation, USA
Geoffrey Fox, Indiana University, USA
Ron Perrott, Belfast e-Science Centre, Queen's University, UK
Heinz Stockinger, University of Vienna, Austria


Dec. 5 - 8, 2005, Melbourne, Australia
Dec.  5 - 8, 2005, Melbourne , Australia